2018 Archives

First cross-domain

IFIP Internet of Things (IoT) Conference

18-19 September 2018

Conference Program
Springer Open Access Proceedings

IoT is hot. Experts and organizations are addressing the topic in policy statements, papers and conferences. There are many aspects to be looked at when talking about IoT. Earlier developments were quite focused on the lower level aspects such as interfacing, communication protocols and standards, base platforms, energy efficiency and energy harvesting, smart devices and smart sensors, etc. With the exponential growth of the number of devices and sensors connected to Internet and their increasing levels of embedded intelligence, other relevant challenges emerge, including organizational structures, collaborative cyber-physical ecosystems, end-user development, self-organizing systems, distributed decision making, collective adaptive and cognitive systems, behavioural models, systems resilience, handling big data, etc. The IFIP Internet of Things (IoT) Conference as part of the IFIP WCC 2018 addresses this wide variety of aspects. Papers will show technical advancements, research on major questions, policy issues, practical implementation issues and so on.

Perspectives will be from the people and organizations involved (users, ICT professionals, user organizations, ICT industry, authorities / regulators) but also from the phase of an IoT system or component (development, production / manufacturing, implementation, maintenance, management, use).

We invite you to submit papers to this conference. We also welcome proposals for special sessions.

Main topics of interest (non-exhaustive list)

  • IoT networks
  • IoT architectures
  • IoT devices
  • IoT Low Power Design
  • CAD for IoT
  • Legal issues (incl. liability)
  • Ethical issues
  • Education, training, awareness
  • End-User Development
  • Usability and accessibility

  • Context-dependent applications
  • Environmental issues
  • Organizational and collaborative structures
  • Risks, Privacy, Security, and Resilience issues
  • Impact on persons and society
  • Novel applications and business models
  • Professionalism / duty of care
  • Internet of ..... (Everything, People, Health, ....)
  • General technical issues and challenges
  • Etc.

Submission Guidelines

Submitted papers must be original, unpublished, and not submitted to another conference or journal for consideration. Accepted papers will be presented at the conference and included in the conference proceedings published in the IFIP Advances in Information and Communication Technology (AICT) series by Springer Science and Business Media.

All papers must be written in English. Submissions should be at most 16 pages long in total including references and appendices. While the emphasis is on full papers, submissions of short papers and position papers are also solicited.

Submissions should not be anonymized. Program Committee members are not required to read the appendices, so the paper should be intelligible without them.

Authors must follow the Springer formatting instructions. Each paper will receive at least 3 reviews. At least one author of each accepted paper must register by the early registration date indicated on the conference website and present the paper.

Proposals for special sessions should be sent to:

Important dates

  • Submission due: 1 May 2018
  • Notification of acceptance: 1 June 2018
  • Deadline for final version: 1 August 2018

Program Co-Chairs

  • Vinton Cerf - Google, USA
  • Leon Strous - De Nederlandsche Bank, Netherlands

Program Committee

José Abdelnour- Nocera University of West London UK
Hamideh Afsarmanesh University of Amsterdam Netherlands
Carmelo Ardito Università degli Studi di Bari Aldo Moro Italy
Ioannis Askoxylakis FORTH-ICS Greece
Soumya Banerjee Birla Institute of Technology, Mesra India
Ezio Bartocci Vienna University of Technology Austria
Juergen Becker Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Karlsruhe Germany
Samia Bouzefrane CEDRIC, Conservatoire National des Arts et Métier France
Luis Camarinha- Matos Nova University of Lisbon Portugal
Augusto Casaca INESC-ID Portugal
Tibor Cinkler Budapest University of Technology and Economics Hungary
Luc Claessen University of Hasselt Belgium
Lucio Davide Spano University of Cagliari Italy
Ibrahim M. Elfadel Masdar Institute at Khalifa University of Science and Technology UAE
Gordon Fletcher University of Salford UK
Miria Grisot University of Oslo Norway
Gerhard Hancke City University of Hong Kong Hong Kong
Michael Huebner Ruhr University of Bochum Germany
Katrin Jonsson Umeå University Sweden
Joaquim Jorge INESC-ID / IST / Univ de Lisboa Portugal
Srinivas Katkoori University of South Florida, Tampa USA
Bouabdellah Kechar University of Oran 1 Ahmed Ben Bella Algeria
Arianit Kurti RISE Interactive, Research Institutes of Sweden Sweden
Maryline Laurent Telecom SudParis France
Antonio Maña University of Malaga Spain
Tiziana Margaria University of Limerick Ireland
Konstantinos Markantonakis Royal Holloway University of London UK
Peter Marwedel Technical University Dortmund Germany
Maristella Matera Politecnico di Milano Italy
Christina Mörtberg Linnaeus University Sweden
Raja Naeem Akram ISG-SCC, Royal Holloway University of London UK
Maciej Ogorzalek Jagiellonian University, Kraków Poland
Fabio Paterno CNR-ISTI Italy
Rasmus Pedersen Copenhagen Business School Denmark
Simon Perrault Yale-NUS College Singapore
Joachim Posegga University of Passau Germany
Ricardo Rabelo Federal University of Santa Catarina Brazil
Franz Rammig University of Paderborn Germany
Kai Rannenberg Goethe University Frankfurt Germany
Delphine Reinhardt University of Bonn, Fraunhofer FKIE Germany
Ricardo Reis Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul Brazil
Carmen Santoro CNR-ISTI Italy
Damien Sauveron University of Limoges France
Weiming Shen National Research Center Canada
Basie Solms, Von University of Johannesburg South Africa
Dimitrios Soudris National Technical University of Athens Greece
José Neuman Souza, De Federal University of Ceará Brazil
Jean-Yves Tigli Université Nice Sophia Antipolis France
Chi Ying Tsui Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Kowloon Hong Kong
Fatih Ugurdag Ozyegin University, Istanbul Turkey
Eugenio Villar University of Cantabria Spain
Janet Wesson Nelson Mandela University South Africa
Marco Winckler Université Nice Sophia Antipolis France

(the list may be expanded with additional program committee members)

For more information visit the congress website (alternatively this) or feel free to contact Leon Strous at